VietnamVisitors from 40 countries can now apply for e-visas for Vietnam

Visitors from 40 countries can now apply for e-visas for Vietnam

A two-year pilot program effective from February 1st, 2017 allows visitors from 40 countries to apply and receive Vietnamese visas via the Internet.

Update: Since July 1st, 2020, e-visa becomes a formal element of Vietnam’s Immigration Laws and visitors from these 80 countries can apply for an e-visa.

Applications for Vietnam’s electronic visas (e-visas) can be submitted online via government domains (English) or (Vietnamese), according to a recent government decree regarding the program.

Applications are to be processed by the immigration authority within three working days, after which time approved applicants can access and print their e-visa using an ID provided by the website during the submission process

Under the new process, visa fee payments will be made by bank transfer to guarantee transparency and convenience for tourists, as well as minimizing intermediate costs.

No letter of guarantee or invitation is required for online visa application, and e-visas will have a validity period of 30 days.

E-visas can also be applied for by underwriting organizations and agencies on behalf of the visa holder, according to the decree.

List of ports in Vietnam that accept e-visas:

Air: E-visas will be accepted at most international airports in Vietnam, including the major hubs of Ho Chi Minh City, Hanoi, Da Nang, Can Tho City, Phu Quoc Island, Hai Phong City, Khanh Hoa City, and Hue.


– Bordering with China: Huu Nghi (Lang Son Province), Lao Cai (Lao Cai Province), Mong Cai (Quang Ninh Province), 

– Bordering with Laos: Bo Y (Kon Tum Province), Cha Lo (Quang Binh Province), Cau Treo (Ha Tinh Province), Lao Bao, La Lay (Quang Tri Province), Nam Can (Nghe An Province), Na Meo (Thanh Hoa Province), Tay Trang (Dien Bien Province), 

– Bordering with Cambodia: Ha Tien (Kien Giang Province), Moc Bai (Tay Ninh Province), Vinh Xuong, Tinh Bien (An Giang Province), Xa Mat (Quang Binh Province)

More on Vietnam Land Border Crossing

Sea: Chan May (Hue City), Da Nang (Da Nang Province), Duong Dong (Phu Quoc Island), Hon Gai (Quang Ninh Province), Hai Phong (Hai Phong City),  Nha Trang (Khanh Hoa Province), Quy Nhon (Binh Dinh Province), Ho Chi Minh City, Vung Tau.

Get the world-leading travel insurance for your adventure in Vietnam:



Read more on visa exemption eligibility and how to obtain Vietnam visa.

On 10 May 2018, the Vietnamese Government has issued Resolution No. 54/NQ-CP, extending the validity of visa exemption for citizens of the UK, France, Germany, Spain, and Italy. The visa waiver for citizens of these 5 Western European countries is valid in 3 years, from 1 July 2018 to 30 June 2021. Citizens of the mentioned countries are exempted from visa to enter and stay in Vietnam for no more than 15 days from the date of entry, regardless of passport type and purpose of visits.

viet nam extends visa waiver for citizens of 5 western european countries 1

- Advertisement -

More Vietnam Travel Guides

Ao Dai Museum in Ho Chi Minh City

In Vietnamese culture, ao dai is a symbol, like a kimono in Japan or...

A Tale of Phu Tay Ho in Hanoi

Hanoi is never a boring destination. It has excellent foods, amazing spots for aspiring...

Common Laws to Know as Expats in Vietnam

Whether you’re coming to Vietnam for work or just a quick visit, the cultural...

Best Places to Take Photos in Ho Chi Minh that Only Locals Would Know

Image source We all capture memories with our cameras during vacations, don’t we? Having a...

The Art of Bánh Tráng – Vietnamese Rice Paper Wrappers

Have you ever come to a Vietnamese restaurant and noticed a stack of translucent,...

Best Outdoor Activities in Hanoi

In a dynamic city like Hanoi, your bucket list will be endless with lots...
Powered by 12Go system